Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Register
Excellence in Leadership Award
Share |

Recognizing Exceptional Leadership

The Excellence in Leadership Award is awarded on an annual basis to an active TONE member who provides a mechanism for the interchange of ideas and dissemination of information regarding nursing practice and legislative issues. The recipient promotes education and other professional activities through serving as a role model and mentor as well as sharing their knowledge through presentations, seminars, publications, etc.

Eligibility: The nominee must be an active member in good standing of the Texas Organization of Nurse Executives (TONE) and must hold a nursing administrative position within their own organization.

Criteria: Please consider nominating a member who deserves honor for:

  • Providing a mechanism for the interchange of ideas and dissemination of information relative to nursing administration/management
  • Demonstrating collaboration with other nursing groups and/or community entities
  • Serving as a role model and mentor, promoting education and other professional activities dealing with nursing administration and current health care issues
  • Sharing knowledge and expertise through presentations, seminars, publications, etc

Selection Committee:The selection committee is comprised of TONE Board Members.

Presentation of the Award:The award is presented to the winning applicant during the Texas Hospital Association's Leadership Conference Awards Luncheon. Recognition will also be published in the TONE Newsletter and Website.

2016 Recipient

Barbara Cherry, DNSc, MBA, RN, NEA-BC

Professor, Associate Dean and Department Chair, Leadership Studies Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Nursing

Dr. Cherry’s original nursing degree is a diploma from Methodist Hospital School of Nursing in Lubbock, Texas. She eventually progressed through the BSN and MSN degrees and also earned a Masters of Business Administration from Texas Tech University. In 2006, she received her Doctor of Nursing Science (DNSc) degree from the University of Tennessee Health Science Center in Memphis, Tennessee.

The majority of her nursing career has been spent in management and administrative positions in critical care and nephrology nursing. About 17 years ago, she moved into the academic setting at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, first as a policy analyst and lead for special projects for the university. In 2007, Dr. Cherry moved to the School of Nursing as an Assistant Professor. By 2012 she had earned the rank of Professor and received tenure in 2014.

Throughout her nursing career, Dr. Cherry has had the opportunity to lead the development of many new initiatives making program development her special area of expertise. She led the establishment of the first home hemodialysis and peritoneal dialysis program in West Texas, which eventually became one of the largest programs in the United States. After coming to Texas Tech, Dr. Cherry coordinated the project to build a teaching nursing home on the Texas Tech campus through a public-private partnership. She was a member of a small interprofessional leadership team that established the Garrison Institute on Aging. She came to the School of Nursing to lead the development of the Doctor of Nursing Practice Program. Currently, Dr. Cherry is Associate Dean, Department Chair for Leadership Studies and the Garrison Professor in Geriatric Nursing.

Her research areas are workforce issues in long-term care facilities and the use of technology in the caregiver role with funding from the National Science Foundation to investigate how robots can be designed to serve in the caregiver role. Her proudest scholarly achievement is being co-author and editor of Contemporary Nursing: Issues, Trends and Management, with the 7th edition published in 2016. Through this book, Dr. Cherry along with her co-author Dr. Susan Jacob, have influenced thousands of nursing students, practicing nurses and faculty.

Past recipients of the TONE Excellence In Leadership Award